Us and Them


Steve Mcmanaman: One of the UK's most successful exports.

Why aren’t there more British players playing away from these shores? Actually I’m sure there are a few, probably more than I’ve first thought, but compared to the numbers of players from all over the world that arrive in the Premier League, this number is pretty small. There have been smatterings of players who venture out to Europe to ply their trade since the 1950’s with the 1980’s being the most prominent time both before and after the european ban.

There is constant speculation about players going to european clubs, recently like Gareth Bale and Leighton Baines and previously Steven Gerrard and Jermaine Jenas, but nothing seems to materialise. Fair enough if the players aren’t for sale but are there so many who wouldn’t want to move abroad? I don’t think it would hinder chances of playing for the national team, but I do think that there would be a difference in wages. And perhaps this is why. There are family aspects to consider also, but this doesn’t hold back the players that come here, so is it big factor for British players?
Of course, playing abroad may not improve a player, nor make him more successful but I’m constantly surprised more players don’t try playing overseas. I’d give it a go.
What do you put it down to? Lack of quality? Too expensive? Language barrier?
Andrew Quigley – Everton fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Us and Them

  1. David says:

    This article makes no real argument as far as I can tell, it just asks constant questions of the reader. It might be because I’m ill and grumpy, but I found it a slightly pointless read.
    I promise that when my laptop returns I’ll put my money where my mouth is and write an article of my own.

  2. Full-Of-Brom says:

    It’s tough to really know why English players don’t move abroad more often. I feel more inclined to put it down to the fact that British players are more expensive but it could just as easily be down to the fact that foreigners are USUALLY more technical and prefer skillful players and there aren’t that many skilful and tricky British players.

Leave a Reply

